Eden Lake: pre-review

After the silent movies came the talkies. Contrary to common belief, this does not refer to the merger of visuals and sounds coming to you from the screen, it just meant that as of then the audience started talking throughout the picture. Eden Lake was a scientific experiment: it was tested whether ten people could make more noise than a movie which is blasted at them with speakers turned to 11. The answer is a surprising yes.

Highlights include a local version of a chav whose bling bling belt jingled every time he moved and the scene in the tent where Kelly Reilly is heard asking her on-screen partner what that noise was. Don’t know, dear, all I heard was the munching of popcorn.

And may I remind you the popcorn muncher had his feet on the seat in front of him and found that talking to his girlfriend was a good way of communicating with her, much better than turning his head towards her. No, if you keep your eyes peeled to the screen and talk loud enough, she’ll hear you alright.

I think I haven’t been this close to leaving a screening since Inland Empire (and before that: South Park – Better, Longer and Uncut, which was so awful I stopped going to the cinema for more than a year). Right now, with Uli Edel‘s The Baader Meinhof Complex only playing at the even more obnoxious multiplex and the arthouse theatre, I’m severely tempted to cancel my cinema club card and getting myself a discount card for the arthouse movies.

Anyway, Eden Lake is a vicious horror movie and in a way thought-provoking. When the lights went on again, a couple of seats before me I noticed a couple. He was a macho in his fifties, she was an import bride from the Philippines. Being all macho-like, he led her the way outside of the room, so he never got to see her reaction to the movie. I did. The look on her face said it all: was this worth coming to Belgium for?

(top picture found on engrish.com – because a picture says more than a thousand words)

3 thoughts on “Eden Lake: pre-review

  1. Nekoneko February 3, 2009 / 22:38

    Just got “Eden Lake” in the mail, so I’ll be interested in what you think.

    Slasher films aren’t my usual thing, but I’d heard some good vibes about this one. It’ll be nice to know if it’s worth my time moving it closer to the top of my “to watch” pile.

  2. Kurtodrome February 5, 2009 / 01:56

    It’s on the way. Any day now.

Leave a Reply

