Obscure, forgotten and unloved

Last night, at a movie quiz of all places, I heard the news that Dennis Hopper had passed away. News that was to be expected but that’s sad anyway. Especially if you’re in jolly surroundings…

I managed to get my hand on a DVD called The Tales of Hoffman, a film by Powell and Pressburger, I’d expected to be long gone by the time we’d get to go to the prizes table. (With one man of our team sick, we were limping on three legs, but managed to end up on an acceptable 7th spot.)
Today I read a list of the best “obscure” classics on The Obscure, the Forgotten, and the Unloved and the film is there, at n°35. Well, it does explain something: even movie buffs won’t pick this one up, not knowing what it is. So in the meantime, while I enjoy my prize, here’s the top 10 for you:

  1. Ride Lonesome (1959) Budd Boetticher
  2. Make Way for Tomorrow (1937) Leo McCarey
  3. And Life Goes On… (1991) Abbas Kiarostami
  4. Jeanne Dielman (1975) Chantal Akerman
  5. The Reckless Moment (1949) Max Ophüls
  6. The Crime of Monsieur Lange (1936) Jean Renoir
  7. Distant Voices, Still Lives (1988) Terence Davies
  8. The Tarnished Angels (1958) Douglas Sirk
  9. Syndromes and a Century (2006) Apichatpong Weerasethakul
  10. Fists in the Pocket (1965) Marco Bellocchio

And, lest you forget, R.I.P. Dennis Hopper. As a tribute, here’s Hopper reading a poem on The Johnny Cash Show (1970).

2 thoughts on “Obscure, forgotten and unloved

  1. fractal June 4, 2010 / 22:28

    …always those two fingers together…

    My love from here, Dennis.

  2. Deeopey July 2, 2010 / 16:20

    I haven’t heard of any of these. I’m struggling to get through my to-see list of even “essential” classics.

    Guess it’s more to the pile 🙂

Leave a Reply

