Medium

It’s the Christmas of slashed budgets, or so it seems. Not much spectacular coming up for the yuletide season. Meanwhile I’m also busy as hell trying to fit two jobs and two projects into one life. Part of me feels ill, the other part very much alive. The stack of unwatched DVDs and VHS tapes remains spectularly impressive. About the only thing I can bear these days is the wonderful Danish show The Killing. More on that later, still on indefinite hiatus after all.

BBC2 used to treat us to seasons of films for the holiday season. I fondly remember the 50s sci-fi series ages ago, but even last year was nice with a handful of film noirs. All but one I’d seen, but that didn’t stop me from watching them again.
This year BBC2 manages to be the only station to interest me as well as disappoint me. Apart from a Christmas special of Doctor Who and the grand finale of Only Connect on BBC4, there’s not a lot of programmes I’m looking forward to. Yes, Have I Got News for You and Screenwipe will return for a festive treat, but no seasons of noir or anything?

Well, there is something… throughout the festive weeks BBC2 is showing an entire season of Medium. Season two, to be precise. Not having watched the first season but having heard good stuff, I tried my best to grasp what was going on during “previously on Medium” introduction, the first scene of the season treated me to a family dialogue on French toast.

During this wonderful dialogue, I was told french fries are called so because the original recipe was invented in France. Erm… not really…

What sort of nonsense is broadcast on our tellies these days? I’m not staying up for that. Bring back Invasion of the Saucer Men and Terror from the Year 5000.

3 thoughts on “Medium

  1. deeopey December 20, 2010 / 16:54

    It’s been a good few years since I last looked forward to the Christmas TV line-up. Probably the TV premier of Jurassic Park.

    But yeah you’re right the late night Christmas Eve selection was always a wondrous oddity counterbalance to the forthcoming day’s sugar sweet programming.

    No doubt my Mum will force Miracle on 34th Street (remake) on me once again 🙂

  2. Phil December 22, 2010 / 21:36

    What about the modern dress version of MR James’ Whistle and I’ll Come to You (BBC 2 Christmas Eve)? It looks pretty good, and John Hurt is always worth a watch.

  3. kurtodrome December 23, 2010 / 01:08

    Hello Phil,

    yes, the trailer looks quite promising. There are a handful of shows I’ll be taping this weekend (considerably more if we count Monday as part of the weekend for once) and a lot of that is on BBC2.

    Sadly though, nothing in the late night slot. The noir and sci-fi seasons were shown around the same time as they’re now showing Medium.

Leave a Reply

